Co-authoring Issues

monsterchic

Captain Satanpants
Greetings.

I'm in the middle of writing a short story with someone (it's fan fiction so it's not super important, but we may publish at some point), and GODS, they infodump like a mofo. I'm largely in charge of the editing, but it's at the point where I almost need to do a total rewrite.

Any suggestions on how to bring that up without being a total dick? I don't want to seem overbearing or like I'm writing the whole project, but something needs to be done. And it's a project I'd like to finish, as I think the story could really go places.

This is a difficult one to answer. I have to say that I'd find co-authoring very difficult. My first thoughts are (ominously): (1) Do you like this person and (2) How good do you want this story to be? I'm no expert on fan fiction, but unless you do a 50 Shades and file off all the details, the original author will retain rights in it and it will be hard to commercially exploit.

That aside, how you approach it depends on the person (how well they take criticism, whether they care etc) and whether you're prepared to let the infodumping happen. I suppose you could tell them that, if both of you are going to do this seriously, you both (ie they) need to learn the techniques, and refer them to one of the better how-to-write books out there. Is there some sort of agreement as to how the editing works, and who gets final say?

I do like the person, and not planning on publishing it for money, just on Archive of Our Own. I want it to be good. We're each writing several characters, so I'm wondering if I should just leave it at "Hey, here's my parts and here is theirs, make of it what you will," as we're splitting the different characters into chapters.