Old Tech thread

Danny McG

"Uroshnor!"
Back in mid seventies I was a trainee in a UK coalmine. In one area of older workings there was a row of lights giving off a strange blue glow.
As far as I recall each light had an enclosed turbine/dynamo that was powered by compressed air.
I remember some old collier saying they'd been operating since the fifties in that area.

I've googled and you can still get compressed air lamps but these ones are hand held for inspection work inside oil tanks etc, the ones I saw were large and permanently mounted.

Just another bit of forgotten technology. No doubt the manufacturer has long since gone - very little coalmining now

I remember around the mid-seventies, being lectured on fluidics and its logic applications. It was going to change the world. You never hear about it now but, according to wiki, it's still being used in some areas like thrust vectoring.
Fluidics - Wikipedia

Wasn't fluidics one of the key reasons they developed the new (in those days) trade of 'instrument mechanics'?

Your initial post had me googling compressed air lamps (fascinating) and that led on to Trompe water powered air compressors an equally fascinating bit of technology dating back I believe to the 16C that produces compressed air with no moving parts!

I went to the Science Museum in London a few years ago for the first time in decades, and was amused by the fluid computer for economic forecasting. From what I remember, you adjusted the liquid levels at the inputs and they went through a bunch of pipes that eventually resulted in the output levels changing.

Probably explains a lot about British economic policy in the mid-20th century.

Edit: actually, I see it's mentioned in the Fluidics Wikipedia article linked up above.

Last edited: