pitching one book or multiple?

kuenjato

Hello all, new poster. I have a question I haven't been able to find via searching online (though searching led me here...) -- essentially, I'm not quite ready to start submitting to agents yet, but feel I may be close (next 3-4 years). Here's the deal: I've been writing fairly consistently for over 20 years and am currently working on my 28th book, with another 12 floating around in various stages of completion. These projects range from epic fantasy to science fiction to YA to contemporary fiction to spec scripts and short story compilations (etc), and run the gamut of long (200-300k+), medium (100k+), and short (60-90k). Part of the reason I've held back from submitting was that I wanted to hone my chops, develop a substantial portfolio, and complete my serials rather than submit unfinished longer works. Various life events (like children) have also delayed this goal. Well, time is grinding along and I might as well test out the waters eventually.

With all that stated, my question: when sending blurbs/cover letters/summaries of the work to agents, should I submit just one book at a time, or promote them as a portfolio? I have several completed trilogies, and several unfinished serials, and a number of stand alone works. My initial thought was to submit a list of the more commercially viable books, with brief blurbs and slightly longer summaries of the serials. Also, in this sort of situation, would agents want a sample from just one novel, or samples from a number of projects? Thanks for any advice you can impart. This forum looks amazing and, after years of hammering away in relative isolation, I plan on hanging out for some time.

First off, congrats on what you've written.

From what I've observed from a friend submitting: