Grim Reapers Opening Scenes

Status
Not open for further replies.

SPoots

Hey all, have been looking forward to posting something for critiquing, but I'll admit to being a bit nervous.

Just starting off with the opening scenes of a short story I wrote recently. It's going by the name Grim Reapers currently, but that's only because I can't think of anything better right now.

I'd be particularly interested in knowing whether people think I should keep the opening poem in, a practice I have never done in any of my work before, or whether the plot detail about the origins of the fey should be left out entirely (although this is a point I know can't really be critiqued without reading the whole story).

Thanks for taking the time to give it a look.

Grim Reapers

The ones who fell went straight to hell,
The ones who won did rise.
But those which did not pick a side,
To Earth they came,
As Fey they hide.

The death coach rattled through the city streets. Belfast roads were never busy at this time of the night, but what few drivers remained didn’t take any notice of the black carriage, drawn by a headless horse, driven by its headless rider. The Dullahan flourished his whip, the length of human spine cracking and snapping in his hand. It was a good night. The silent streets belonged to the Dullahan, as did the soul he raced to collect. There had been few of them in recent years, but this was his. It filled him with purpose, made him remember the old days, when his coach would carry legions to their final repose. It was a good night.

He turned down Amelia Street. As he passed The Crown pub, its door flew open and a small figure ran out into the middle of the road. The Dullahan had only a moment to recognise the bright yellow jacket, before he yanked on the reigns. Sparks flew up from the horse’s hooves as it and the carriage ground to a halt.

“Well, that was a bit close for comfort.” Said a voice from the front of the horse.