Becoming an editor

Lex E. Darion

Formerly Alex Darion
Not sure if this is the right place to post this but I'm sure one of you lovely mods will move it if necessary.

I would love to become an editor to supplement my income and improve my writing skills but I'm not sure what the best route is. (I am talking about in the future; I'm aware that it won't be happening tomorrow!)

I know someone who calls themselves a 'professional editor' without any professional qualifications or real experience. She has written a few books, one series has been published by a small, local publisher and she has self-pubbed others. To me, she seems more like a proof-reader, or copy-editor at a push, but it does make me cringe when I hear her describe herself as such.

Having looked into though, it appears that you don't need any qualifications. This amazes me! This Crazy Industry: Becoming an Editor

I have a degree already and wouldn't be able to afford the tuition fees for a BA but have looked at courses Choose a course

I am interested in people's journeys into the editing world. Am I wrong in my reaction and can you call yourself an editor willy-nilly?? Obviously you need testimonials to get anywhere but do you need to have worked in a publishing house or such?

Many thanks.

You probably can but I wouldn't use any editor without a good recommend - preferably several :)
So I suppose I should probably ask then, what do you look for in an editor? As you say, several good recommendations, but do you look for someone who has traditionally published themselves/worked in the industry for xx amount of years/or is it just word of mouth for you?

So I suppose I should probably ask then, what do you look for in an editor? As you say, several good recommendations, but do you look for someone who has traditionally published themselves/worked in the industry for xx amount of years/or is it just word of mouth for you?