Science Fiction/Fantasy

Andrew Lambert

I'm quite confused as to the genre my first novel falls into. I've been spending ages now, flicking through the competition, checking out writing styles and story lines. So, where do a book with the following fall?
  1. Definitely, not hard Sci Fi. I understand these books follow certain conventions. My books follow the Star Trek route, though as a chartered engineer, I had tried to use flowery technical terms and a knowledge of fluid dynamics and the like to add realism. I do have an extensive space battle, but not to the extent of having space ships on the cover.
  2. Fantasy? No magic swords or jewels. No fictitious earth species, such as goblins, fairies, ogres, etc. No dragons - talking or not, and definitely no cats!
  3. There's no swearing or sexual content.
  4. Fight scenes are no holds barred, but not gratuitously graphic.
  5. Am I in the Young Adult market - in the large void of SF/F?

It's probably straight -- but not hard -- SF. (It doesn't sound like space opera, but may be so, depending on what else** is in there.)

Why do you think it might be Fantasy if there are no obvious Fantasy elements?

** Wikipedia describes space opera thus:
Space opera is a subgenre of science fiction that emphasizes space warfare, melodramatic adventure, interplanetary battles, as well as chivalric romance, and often risk-taking. Set mainly or entirely in outer space, it usually involves conflict between opponents possessing advanced abilities, futuristic weapons, and other sophisticated technology.

I'd agree with Ursa. Maybe Science Fantasy to those who want to maintain a difference between "likely" science advancement and unlikely. But nothing in your synopsis makes me think of "normal" Fantasy.

Certainly, there are many elements listed under Space Opera, if not most of them. But I do like Science Fantasy.
Thanks, Ursa and Parson for your thoughts.