The Disconnect (sci-fi 1263 words)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cli-Fi

John J. Falco
This is the new first chapter that I have been working on for the past two months since posting my other chapter one for this WIP. That one now is the second chapter taking place thirty years from this chapter in 2080. This chapter adds a bit more backstory and mythology to the plot. This isn't the full chapter because it's more than 1500 words obviously, but if you can't tell, it's slowly building up to when the internet goes offline and what Daphne is doing when that happens.

I've been playing with this opening for awhile and I think it works well for a first chapter instead of a prologue, because a lot of these elements will be in the rest of the novel and it sets up the battles as well as the world which Daphne knew and then gets exiled from. There's a very good reason she was in the pod for eight days instead of four hours and that's one of the bigger questions that ties into the mystery of The Disconnect itself. What do you think?

1. Bricked

Her timeslot was intended to last four hours for some sort of research, but it’s been eight days and counting, since she won a coveted slot in an Edupod. Now suffocating from boredom and the fumes that collected into a puddle of sweat that dripped down her spine like a potent IV bag, Daphne Perry was slowly going insane trying to ignore the dampness of the clothes that made her skin break out in rashes all over her body and the itchy tight-fitting cling that didn’t make it any easier to breathe.