A Scissors

HoopyFrood

It's me! Hurrah!
I work as an editor and recently we've been doing work for a US company, and this included my writing a fair chunk of content. I tried to get all the usual American bits -- take out the Us, add in the Zs -- but there are always going to be the more obscure ones that I'm going to miss.

Today we get back a comment saying to please change 'can I borrow some scissors' to 'can I borrow a scissors'.

I immediately had to look this up because my brain refuses to do this to a plural. But I can't find much about this. One source says that in American English it is treated as singular, and then another source saying that it's more of a regional thing?

American people, please help, are there people who say 'a scissors'? Is this actually a common thing?

I was just saying that we should put that instead as a compromise.

Mainly I just want to know if 'a scissors' is actually a thing.

The wiki entry on scissors -
The noun scissors is treated as a plural noun, and therefore takes a plural verb (e.g., these scissors are). Alternatively, it is also referred to as a pair of scissors. In American English, a pair is singular and therefore takes a singular verb (e.g., this pair of scissors is). In other forms of English, a pair does not take the singular (so simply these scissors are).
would suggest that even in American English it should only take the singular form when used with "a pair of."

Ah, thanks, Dusty, that's what I was looking for! Some evidence that this does indeed take place out in the wild. Are these a lot of people, spread about, or is it more of a regional thing? I'm intrigued as to how widespread this is, as I'm wondering if this is just what one person thinks it should be. Apparently there are a handful of people in the US company looking at the products so I'm waiting for us to send this back and get another person saying "why does this say 'a scissors'?" :D