Sins of Empire will be Brian McClellan's 4th Powder Mage novel

Brian G Turner

Fantasist & Futurist
Staff member
Nov 23, 2002
Brian McClellan will be continuing the Powder Mage series, with a new book set 10 years after the end of the 3rd:

From his newsletter:

Looking forward to the next Powder Mage novel? Sins of Empire is now turned in and going through production, and is due out March 2017. It takes place ten years after the end of Autumn Republic. Here's the synopsis:

Sins of Empire

Gods of Blood and Powder

Book One

An epic new fantasy series from Brian McClellan, set in the same world as his wildly popular Powder Mage Trilogy.

The young nation of Fatrasta is a turbulent place - a frontier destination for criminals, fortune-hunters, brave settlers, and sorcerers seeking relics of the past. Only the iron will of the lady chancellor and her secret police holds the capital city of Landfall together against the unrest of a suppressed population and the machinations of powerful empires.

The insurrection that threatens Landfall must be purged with wile and force, a task which falls on the shoulders of a spy named Michel Bravis, convicted war hero Ben Styke, and Lady Vlora Flint, a mercenary general with a past as turbulent as Landfall's present.

As loyalties are tested, revealed, and destroyed, a grim specter as old as time has been unearthed in this wild land, and the people of Landfall will soon discover that rebellion is the least of their worries.

Jul 24, 2008
I read the first book and have the second but never got around to it. I need to get back to these.

Brian, have you read them all?