Historical reenactment is losing to Larping. NOT A GOOD THING

I've been a die hard historical reenactor for several years and a competitive swordsman for most of my life. While I write in the fantasy genre, I read a great deal of historical fiction as well and one of my favorite series of books is Bernard Cornwall's Warlord Chronicles. His descriptions of what it's like to be in a shield wall during a push is spot on. While larping looks like a great deal of fun, it doesn't capture what its like to meet steel on steel in a full contact fight. It's a wonderful thing to draw from in terms of writing. I'd like to know ow other people might feel about this subject.

Different animals.

I got into reenactment to play a character. I have been disappointed in both the SCA and the Empire of Adria. It's about stick-jocking and politicking; no one is ever in character.(your mileage may vary; this has been my experience for 30 years). I got a combat (and an arts, and a ministry) knighthood in Adria, for rapier, but that was decades ago. Fighting is fun, but the Lodge aspect of medieval roleplay isn't.

I'm not really into LARP; tabletop is more my game, but a strongly character-based tabletop. But I'd love to find a reenactment group that was just about playing an historical person.

LARP'ers sleep in a hotel room or some less-than-accurate facsimile of a cottage while swinging a cartoonish foam hammer that is so light you'd never get winded.

Wow.