Peter F. Hamilton

I've racked up about nine of his books. None are perfect but I'd suggest starting with the Night's Dawn trilogy. It's big, but not as unnecessarily big as some of his later works, and illustrates his strengths i.e. fantastic world-building, a rattling yarn, great action

And the series gave me my username.

Edit: just added a necessary NOT

Last edited:
I'm resuming here the discussion about Peter F. Hamilton, opened on the "It's May - what are you reading ?" topic.

Thanks for the heads-up!

I have only covered the first 10 pages or so of "..Dysfunction", with another 1200 pages to go! I am totally new to Hamilton, and if you feel this isn't his best work, I'm wondering if I should downsize a little to something not quite so heavy & long-winding?

How you rate the Pandora's Star series? Would it be a more accessible introduction to his works for a noob like me?

Thanks

I don't think you should stop your reading now. Give it a try, see for yourself, try and see if you're hooked at the first cliffhanger. If you're not, you can try Pandora's Star series, it's shorter and maybe more entertaining. If you feel entertained by The Reality Dysfunction, by all means go on reading.

There is another Hamilton's book you could give a try, it is Great North Road. It's a one-shot, even if it's divided in two here in France :cautious: ...

As I mention in the May reading thread his Greg Mandel books are probably his most accessible, being straightforward SF thrillers, however I wouldn't say they are representative of Hamilton's more normal style or of what is possibly his greatest strength which is creating complex sagas set on truly huge canvases.

I am a fan of Hamilton. I personally think the Commonwealth Saga is the strongest of his works - alongside Fallen Dragon which is a great standalone.

I have The Abyss Beyond Dreams sat at home waiting for a read (bought it at Christmas and shelved it). Might read that next rather than fantasy.