Do you worry your style will be edited into mindless conformity?

Ransonwrites

Eternal factotum
I wanna live! I wanna experience the universe! And
The article which has inspired me to post this new thread begins as a discussion on self-publishing, but as this is an 'issue of writing' I thought this was best placed here, rather than in one of the publishing forums.

This dropped into my Inbox over lunch:
Do You Read Self-Published Books Differently? Yes, You Do!

Google the website of Catherine Ryan Howard for the full text. Sorry, no links as I'm still a noob without posting credit, so please do visit the blog, make a comment, retweet, like, or whatever you prefer in order to reward Ms Ryan Howard for her time.

The article begins by reporting the results of a poll taken on Ms Ryan Howard's blog that tested whether respondents read self-published books differently from traditionally published books. According to this, a majority do:

33% of you said that yes, you were sure you read self-published books differently
25% of you said that you wish you didn’t, but you can’t help it
Which when combined, makes it
58% of respondents who say they read self-published books differently
, i.e. judge them differently to traditionally published books
But what is interesting is the reason for this difference:

A few commenters said that when they read a self-published book and spot an error, they know something can be done about it: they can contact the self-published author, who is probably easily located online, and let them know. Then the error can be removed and future editions will be free of it.