1. A community of fans, aspiring writers, and published novelists, we are the world's largest - and friendliest! - science fiction and fantasy forums.

    Registration is free, and we regularly give away free books and DVDs.

    So why not join now and meet people with similar interests and tastes in books, movies, and TV?

    Log in with Facebook

    Log in with Twitter

    Dismiss Notice

Gaiman?s The Graveyard Book wins Carnegie Medal

Discussion in 'General Book Discussion' started by SFF Chronicles News, Oct 20, 2013.

    SFF Chronicles News

    SFF Chronicles News Well-Known Member

    Oct 20, 2013
    24th June 2010 11:39 PM

    Elaine Frei


    The Graveyard Book (Bloomsbury), by Neil Gaiman, has been awarded the Carnegie Medal for 2010 as the most outstanding children’s book to be published in the UK. In recognition of the award, Gaiman will receive a gold medal and £500 worth of books to be donated to any library he chooses.

    In winning the Medal, Gaiman’s book becomes the first book to win both the Carnegie Medal and the Newberry Medal, given by the Association of Library Service to Children, part of the American Library Association. The Graveyard Book was award the Newberry Medal in 2009.

    Other books on this year’s shortlist for the award included Chains (Bloomsbury), by Laurie Halse Anderson; The Vanishing of Katharina Linden (Penguin), by Helen Grant; Rowan the Strange (Oxford University Press), by Helen Grant; The Ask and the Answer (Walker), by Patrick Ness; Nation (Doubleday), by Terry Pratchett; Fever Crumb (Scholastic), by Philip Reeve; and Revolver (Orion), by Marcus Sedgwick.

    The Award, given by the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals and chosen by a panel of children’s librarians, was established in 1936 to honor industrialist and philanthropist (Andrew Carnegie (1835 – 1919), who set up over 2800 libraries in fulfillment of a childhood resolution that if he ever became rich, he would use his wealth to establish free libraries.

    Other winners of the Carnegie Medal include Watership Down (Rex Collings), by Richard Adams, in 1972; His Dark Materials: Book 1 Northern Lights (Scholastic), by Philip Pullman, in 1995; and The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents (Doubleday), by Terry Pratchett, in 2001.

Share This Page