Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award presented

SFF Chronicles News

Well-Known Member
Oct 20, 2013
29th July 2010 07:27 AM

Elaine Frei

Often, science fiction and fantasy readers are on the lookout for the “next big thing” in the genre they love, the next best-seller, the next hot young writer.

The Cordwainer Smith Foundation, however, has a slightly different goal with its Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award. The most recent winner of the award was announced at the beginning of this month at Readercon 21 in Burlington, Massachusetts. With the award, the Foundation hopes to point readers to science fiction and fantasy writers of the past who are little known and less appreciated by most readers today.

This year’s winner of the award was Mark Clifton (1906 – 1963), who began publishing in 1954 and who co-wrote They’d Rather Be Right with Frank Riley, which won the second Hugo award for Best Novel ever awarded, in 1955.

Other winners of the Rediscovery Award, which was first presented in 2001, include Olaf Stapledon (1886 – 1950), who was given the award in 2001, Edgar Pangborn (1909 – 1976) in 2003, Henry Kuttner (1915 – 1958) and C. L. Moore (1911 – 1987) in 2004, and Leigh Brackett (1915 – 1978) in 2005.

The Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award is given by the Cordwainer Smith Foundation, founded in 2001 by the writer’s family in order to keep the memory and legacy of Smith’s work alive. Smith, whose real name was Paul M. A. Linebarger, began publishing in 1937 and wrote both science fiction and non-fiction about his areas of expertise, Asian studies and psychological warfare. Most of Smith’s science fiction, which consisted primarily of short stories, took place in an invented universe with an established timeline.

Similar threads