Hugo Award winners announced at Aussiecon 4

SFF Chronicles News

Well-Known Member
Oct 20, 2013
10th September 2010 06:14 AM

Elaine Frei


The 2010 Hugo Award winners were announced last weekend in Melbourne, Australia as part of Aussiecon 4, the 68th World Science Fiction Convention. Among the most prestigious awards in the science fiction genre the Hugos, named for science fiction pioneer Hugo Gernsback, have been presented every year since 1955.

This year there was a tie for the award for Best Novel between China Miéville’s The City & The City (Del Rey; Macmillan UK) and The Windup Girl (Night Shade), by Paolo Bacigalupi. This is only the third time in the history of the Hugo Awards that there has been a tie in the category. In 1966, there was a tie between Frank Herbert’s Dune and Roger Zelazny’s …And Call Me Conrad, while in 1993 A Fire Upon the Deep, by Vernor Vinge tied with the Doomsday Book, by Connie Willis.

Best Novella was “Palimpsest” (Wireless), by Charles Stross, while the award for Best Novelette went to “This Island” (The New Space Opera 2), by Peter Watts and the winner for Best Short Story was “”Bridesicle” (Asimov’s 1/09), by Will McIntosh.

The Best Related Book award went to This is Me, Jack Vance! (Or, More Properly, This is “I”) (Subterranean), by Jack Vance, and the winner for Best Graphic Story was Girl Genius, Volume 9: Agatha Heterodyne and the Heirs of the Storm (Airship Entertainment), written by Kaja and Phil Foglio, with art by Phil Foglio and colours by Cheyenne Wright.

The award for Best Dramatic Presentation, Long For went to Moon (Liberty Films), with a screenplay by Nathan Parker from a story by Duncan Jones, who also directed. Doctor Who: “The Waters of Mars” (BBC Wales) won as Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form. “The Waters of Mars” was written by Russell T. Davies and Phil Ford, and was directed by Graeme Harper.

Patrick Nielsen Hayden was voted Best Editor, Long Form, while Ellen Datlow won the award as Best Editor, Short Form. Shaun Tan won the award for Best Professional Artist, while Brad W. Foster was named Best Fan Artist. The Best Fanzine award went to StarShipSofa, edited by Tony C. Smith, while Clarkesworld, edited by Neil Clarke, Sean Wallace and Cheryl Morgan won the award for Best Semiprozine.

The award for Best Fan Writer was awarded to Frederick Pohl for his blog, “The Way the Future Blogs”. The 90-year-old Pohl, who has been publishing in the genre for more than 70 years, is a multiple Hugo winner, including his win in 1978 for Best Novel for Gateway. In addition, Pohl was named a Nebula Grand Master in 1993.

In addition to the Hugo Awards, the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer was also presented during Aussiecon, to Seanan McGuire.

Similar threads