A Book of Horrors, anthology out next month

SFF Chronicles News

Well-Known Member
Oct 20, 2013
9th August 2011 05:12 PM

Kerry Butters

A new anthology for lovers of horror and dark fantasy, edited by Stephen Jones, is due for release next month.

A Book of Horrors is due to be released on 29th September and contains a collection of stories from both world famous and new writers. This will be the first non-themed anthology of original horror fiction to be released for over a decade or more – exciting stuff for those of us who grew up on books such as The Pan Book of Horror Stories and its later incarnations, Dark Voices and Dark Terrors.

Now that horror has returned to the bookshelves, it is time for a regular anthology of brand-new fiction by the best and brightest in the field, both the Big Names and the most talented newcomers. A Book of Horrors is the foremost in the field: a collection of the very best chiller fiction, from some of the world’s greatest writers.

Introduction: Whatever Happened to Horror? Stephen Jones
The Little Green God of Agony: Stephen King
Charcloth, Firesteel and Flint: Caitlín R. Kiernan
Ghosts with Teeth: Peter Crowther
The Coffin-Maker’s Daughter: Angela Slatter
Roots and All: Brian Hodge
Tell Me When I’ll See You Again: Dennis Etchinson
The Music of Bengt Karlsson, Murderer: John Ajvide Lindqvist
Getting it Wrong: Ramsey Campbell
Alice Through the Plastic Sheet: Robert Shearman
A Man in the Ditch: Lisa Tuttle
A Child’s Problem: Reggie Oliver
Sad, Dark Thing: Michael Marshall Smith
Near Zennor: Elizabeth Hand
Last Words: Richard Christian Matheson

Stephen Jones is the multiple-award-winning editor and author of more than 100 books in the horror and fantasy genres. A former television director/producer and movie publicist and consultant (including the first three Hellraiser movies), he has edited the reprint anthology Best New Horror for more than 20 years. He lives in Wembley, Middlesex, and travels widely.

A Book of Horrors is available for pre-order on Amazon

Hardcover: 400 pages
Price: £16.99
Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books (29 Sep 2011)
ISBN-10: 0857388088
ISBN-13: 978-0857388087

Similar threads