Poisonous Spider Bites on Rise in SE UK

Thank god that said SE. Had way too many giant spiders to deal with over the past few days in Cornwall.

Thank god that said SE. Had way too many giant spiders to deal with over the past few days in Cornwall.
I hope you drove home to Somerset with your car windows closed, because the linked article says:
The false widow spider first came to the UK over 100 years ago in crates of fruit from the Canary Islands. It has been established in Devon for a long time but recently climate change has caused the population to spread across the south east.

Oh, and:
In 2006 a Dorchester man was hospitalised for three days after suffering a heart seizure following a spider bite believed to have been caused by a false widow.

I worked at Asda when I was a student and for a while on the produce dept. The amount of stuff that came out of the boxes of fruit which I'm damn sure we didn't have import licenses for was amazing. One guy was taken to hospital along with the offending spider whilst I worked there. It added some excitement to the job when you stuck your hand into a box of bananas and when you came out with a bunch of bananas there was a big colourful spider sat on the back of your hand.

The one incident that sticks in my mind most was a plague of ladybirds that came out of boxes of English apples. They must have dropped down to the bottoms of the boxes when they were refrigerated but once we put them out on the shelves on the shop floor they warmed up a bit and climbed up to the surface (the shelves were refrigerated from below). There must have been hundreds of the things!

Iain

I read somewhere years ago that the reason that so many people have a phobia about spiders is because our racial memory doesn't recognise them, because they are not native to earth...

hmmmmm

Nothing to really get hysterical about. Here in Oregon we have at least three species of pretty nasty spiders native, and I'm not bothered about any of them: