Opinions on Christopher Priest please.

Coragem

Believer in flawed heroes
I started writing a door stopping wedge of a sci-f
Hi all:

I'm looking for more challenging reads these days – very well written, ideally thought provoking with good characters, maybe something that plays about with narrative structure.

I thought of trying The Separation or The Affirmation by Christopher Priest.

What do people think?

To say the least, I think it would be a bit of a break from my usual reading. For example, I've been reading a lot of Ian McDonald lately and more generally my taste is sci-fi with politics and sex and violence and above all very engaging characters.

Coragem.

I've only read a couple of Priest novels - The Inverted World and The Prestige. I love his ideas and originality but find reading his books a bit of a struggle. I'm not sure what the problem is. I wouldn't say they are badly written but I find the structure untidy - but I'm no expert on narrative structure so perhaps it's just me.

Having said that, from what I've read, I would recommend giving him a try.:)

He's definitely worth reading. The Inverted World is an early and relatively straightforward work. Later books are far more ambiguous and literary. The Separation is very good, as is The Prestige. I've not read The Affirmation, but I have it on the TBR. The Islanders won the BSFA Award, and his latest, The Adjacent, is getting lots of very good notices.

I only read The Prestige after seeing the film and liked the book very much. Also have The Affirmation on the shelf waiting to be read - bought it when I saw an amazon review saying the novel is like M.C. Escher's artwork that I love so much. I'll have to look up The Separation.