Playing the bittern?

Talysia

Lady of Autumn
I'm up to The Lord of Chaos on my reread, and I keep seeing mentions of people playing the bittern.

Now, I've heard of a gittern, but I always thought that a bittern was a type of bird - either that, or the name of a steam locomotive or a type of salt. I've both googled it and checked Wiki, and they say pretty much the same, as does my rather ancient dictionary. Is it real, fictional, or has Jordan got the word wrong?

From what I can find on the internet, which isn't a lot, it could be a type of Turkish Horn . . . . Otherwise I'm stumped. There are a few sites referencing stringed instruments in relation to the Bittern.

I have a fair knowledge of obscure musical instruments and the h=name rings loads of bells in my head; but I can't quite place it.

It's definitely made me wonder what the bittern looks like, in this case. There was a mention of a 12-string bittern in one of the Lord of Chaos chapters I just read, but other than that, I don't remember any other descriptions.

Thanks for replying, though.:)

Is it real, fictional, or has Jordan got the word wrong?
Blasphemy! :D My writing God cannot have got it wrong. He would have known precisely the word he wanted to use, with the sounds he wanted it to have.

I quite like it when an author takes a word we know and changes it slightly to make something different...

Anywhoo. Been away, so I couldn't reply to this. But, I always thought it was like a lute, too, yet I don't know why. Anyway, the WoT Wiki says this:

"bittern (BIHT-tehrn): A musical instrument that may have six, nine, or twelve strings, and is held flat on the knees and played by plucking or strumming."

http://wot.wikia.com/wiki/The_Dragon_Reborn/Glossary

I'm up to book six as well, Taly - wonderful! And the day you posted this, I just read chapter 9 - Mat's POV - where he mentions a bittern. :D