Research: Frank Herbert's DUNE

DuneDetective

Hello all,

I'm a library science graduate student conducting a book history study of Frank Herbert's original Dune novel, specifically its reception among readers over time. If you could take just a few minutes to thoughtfully answer the several questions below I would be so grateful! Your input will be invaluable to my research.

1. Have you read Dune? If so:
-When?
-How long did it take you to finish the book?
-Did you re-read it at any point? When and why?
-Have you read other books in the series?

2. What motivated you to first read Dune? What preconceived notions did you have about the book before reading it?

3. Briefly review the book: What did you like about it? What did you not like? Why?

4. Do you agree that Dune can be seen as the of "Lord of the Rings" of science fiction? Why or why not?

5. Do you see Dune persisting as a classic work of science fiction in the future? Will it satisfy future readers? Why or why not?

6. Would you recommend the book to others? Who? Who would you NOT recommend it to?

7. What would you consider your favorite sci-fi novel? How does it compare to Dune?

8. Are you male or female?

9. How old are you?

Thank you very much! Your contribution will be extremely helpful in my study.

Best,
Elizabeth

Good luck with your research. I think that your questions make a number of assumptions which possibly reduce their value.

Yes. But if the answer was No, then what information can you take from that? do the answers from this board give any sort of representative sample?
-When? aged 11
-How long did it take you to finish the book? a few days. It was on a camping trip in Norfolk. The lack of electricity made it difficult to read at night, so it probably took a bit longer than it otherwise would have done.
-Did you re-read it at any point? When and why? yes. dont remember when. because I liked it.
-Have you read other books in the series? some