Neal Stephenson

Kierkegaurdian

Howdy! I was wondering if there were any other Neal Stephenson fans around. He doesn't have an author sub-forum (probably because of lack of interest) so I was just curious if anyone was a fan! I am halfway through The Confusion and love it. I got my undergraduate degree in Philosophy, so a lot of the main characters in this epic work are some of my most loved historical writers.

i'm halfway through the Confusion too, but it's taken me three years to get this far...! very rich writing.

Yes, it is. Every bit of it so far has been fantastic ... Stephenson must have been "in the zone" while writing this, to keep the complexity, humor, and storytelling elements all top notch throughout.

I have Anathem and The Diamond Age, I'm trying to source more (probably starting with stand alone works like Snow Crash and Cryptonomicon rather than The Baroque Cycle because of costs.)

Hi there,
I have read The Confusion, Anathem and Cryptonomicon. I cannot believe this author isn't more well known! My husband bought me The Confusion second hand (the first of his books that I read) and I was engrossed within a few pages. The others I have simply bought as I have found them in bookshops, though I do plan to order in the first and last of the Baroque series if I don't stumble across them soonish.

Very dense detail but he manages to create rip-roaring stories as well! Anathem was prob my least favourite of the three, as I enjoyed how he hinged the plot around historical events in the other two.

I look forward to reading more (esp while waiting for George RR Martin's next book :)

Actually you'll find Stephenson is talked about here on a semi regular basis. I have his entire oeuvre including his early stuff like The Big U.

He's one of the outstanding breed of savvy contemporary SFF writers that are currently out there.

The Baroque Cycle is brilliant but his best works to date are probably still Cryptonomicon and Snow Crash.