Failure of Lovecraft's Project: 3 of 3

Extollager

My final comment is the one I feel may need the most refinement. I'm an English teacher and not a physicist. I invite help in refining it.

Here goes.

Physicists use the term "Copenhagen interpretation" to deal with the unsettling implications of what was learned in the 20th century about quantum physics and the observer. Basically this means that for the purposes of scientific investigation we "assume" that (1) the undeniable effect of the presence of an observer upon the outcome of an experiment is limited to the submicroscopic level and (2) that the rest of the universe is there apart from an observer.

Lots of people, however, don't think this is tenable. I would reference, at the popular level which is all that I am capable of, a profile in Discover magazine with physicist John Wheeler (June 2002) and, in the same magazine, an excerpt from Lanza and Berman's Biocentrism (issue for May 2009), and also that book.

Put very simply, they argue that nature/the universe are real but the reality of nature/the universe is not entirely separable from an observer.

We know, as scientists, of no observers other than humans and, if you like, animals.

Apart from an observer, Wheeler suggests the analogy of "clouds" of probability -- until observation happens and probability becomes nature/the universe.

I must refer you to these sources if this sounds New Age-y. One reason other people need to deal with it is because New Age-y folks are doing so for their own sometimes dubious gratification.

Clearly this is a long way from Lovecraft's outlook. His whole project depends on our conceiving ourselves as having no essential connection with the cosmos in any way. Au contraire, Lanza and Berman argue: that is precisely what physics shows: that there is an essential connection between consciousness and life, the universe, etc.