Hugo Award Shortlist announced

David Stewart

Dec 17, 2004
Dublin, Ireland

PRESS RELEASE #31 - 2005 Hugo Award Shortlist Announced

GLASGOW, Saturday 26 March 2005

Shortlist for 2005 Hugo Awards announced – Ballots to be distributed in Progress Report 4 – Voting deadline set at 8 July 2005.

The shortlist for the Hugo Awards recognising achievement in Science Fiction during the year 2004 has been released. The Hugo Awards, named in honour of writer, publisher and inventor Hugo Gernsback, are science fiction’s highest honours for professional and fan work.

Voting for the Hugo Awards is open to all adult attending and supporting members of Interaction, the 63rd World Science Fiction Convention, which takes place in Glasgow from 4 to 8 August 2005. Ballots will be mailed to existing members with Progress Report 4 during April 2005.Eligible member will be able to vote online and printable ballots will be made available from the convention web site. Information about joining Interaction and voting for the Hugo Awards, may also be found there. The closing date for receipt of ballots is 23:59 British Summer Time on 8 July 2005. (7pm EDT/4PM PDT, 8 July 2005)

The winners will be announced at a ceremony on 7 August 2005 in Glasgow as part of the Convention.

The 2005 Hugo Awards nominations listed below include finalists in 14 categories, plus the John W. Campbell Award (not a Hugo).

Best Novel (424 nominating ballots)

The Algebraist by Iain M. Banks (Orbit)
Iron Council by China Miéville (Del Rey; Macmillan)
Iron Sunrise by Charles Stross (Ace)
Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke (Bloomsbury)
River of Gods by Ian McDonald (Simon & Schuster)

Best Novella (249 nominating ballots)

“The Concrete Jungle” by Charles Stross (The Atrocity Archives, Golden Gryphon Press)
“Elector” by Charles Stross (Asimov’s 09/04)
“Sergeant Chip” by Bradley Denton (Fantasy & Science Fiction 09/04)
“Time Ablaze” by Michael A. Burstein (Analog 06/04)
“Winterfair Gifts” by Lois McMaster Bujold (Irresistible Forces NAL)

Best Novelette (215 nominating ballots)

“Biographical Notes to ‘A Discourse on the Nature of Causality, with Air-Planes’ by Benjamin Rosenbaum” by Benjamin Rosenbaum (All-Star Zeppelin Adventure Stories Wheatland)
“The Clapping Hands of God” by Michael F. Flynn (Analog 07-08/04)
“The Faery Handbag” by Kelly Link (The Faery Reel Viking)
“The People of Sand and Slag” by Paolo Bacigalupi (Fantasy & Science Fiction 02/04)
“The Voluntary State” by Christopher Rowe (Sci Fiction, 5/5/04)

Best Short Story (269 nominating ballots)

“The Best Christmas Ever” by James Patrick Kelly (Sci Fiction, 5/26/04)
“Decisions” by Michael A. Burstein (Analog 01-02/04)
“A Princess of Earth” by Mike Resnick (Asimov’s 12/04)
“Shed Skin” by Robert J. Sawyer (Analog 01-02/04)
“Travels with My Cats” by Mike Resnick (Asimov’s 02/04)

Best Related Book (263 nominating ballots)

The Best of Xero by Pat and Dick Lupoff (Tachyon Publications)
The Cambridge Companion to Science Fiction ed. by Edward James and Farah Mendlesohn (Cambridge University Press)
Dancing Naked: The Unexpurgated William Tenn, Volume 3 by William Tenn (NESFA Press)
Futures: 50 Years in Space: The Challenge of the Stars by David A. Hardy and Patrick Moore (AAPPL; Harper Design International)
With Stars in My Eyes: My Adventures in British Fandom by Peter Weston (NESFA Press)

Best Dramatic Presentation - Long Form (340 nominating ballots)

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (Focus Features) Story by Charlie Kaufman & Michael Gondry & Pierre Bismuth; Screenplay by Charlie Kaufman; Directed by Michael Gondry.
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Warner Brothers) Written by Steve Kloves; Based on the novel by J.K. Rowling; Directed by Alfonso Cuarón.
The Incredibles (Walt Disney Pictures / Pixar Animation Studios) Written & Directed by Brad Bird
Sky Captain and The World of Tomorrow (Paramount Pictures) Written & Directed by Kerry Conran
Spider-Man 2 (Sony Pictures Entertainment / Columbia Pictures) Screen Story by Alfred Gough & Miles Millar and Michael Chabon; Screenplay by Alvin Sargent; Based on the comic book by Stan Lee & Steve Ditko; Directed by Sam Raimi

Best Dramatic Presentation - Short Form (161 nominating ballots)

Heroes Part 1 & 2 - Stargate SG-1 (MGM Television / The Sci Fi Channel) Written by Robert C. Cooper; Directed by Andy Mikita
Not Fade Away - Angel (20th Century Fox Television / Mutant Enemy) Written by Jeffrey Bell & Joss Whedon; Directed by Jeffrey Bell
Pilot Episode - Lost (Touchstone Television / Bad Robot) Story by Jeffrey Lieber and J.J. Abrams & Damon Lindelof; Teleplay by J.J. Abrams & Damon Lindelof; Directed by: J.J. Abrams
Smile Time – Angel (20th Century Fox Television / Mutant Enemy) Story by Joss Whedon & Ben Edlund; Teleplay by Ben Edlund; Directed by Ben Edlund
33 - Battlestar Galactica (NBC Universal Television / The Sci Fi Channel) Written by Ronald D. Moore; Directed by Michael Rymer

Best Professional Editor (296 nominating ballots)

Ellen Datlow
Gardner Dozois
David G. Hartwell
Stanley Schmidt
Gordon Van Gelder

Best Professional Artist (232 nominating ballots)

Jim Burns
Bob Eggleton
Frank Kelly Freas
Donato Giancola
John Picacio

Best Semiprozine (238 nominating ballots)

Ansible ed. by David Langford
Interzone ed. by David Pringle and Andy Cox
Locus ed. by Charles N. Brown
The New York Review of Science Fiction ed. by Kathryn Cramer, David G. Hartwell and Kevin J. Maroney
The Third Alternative ed. by Andy Cox

Best Fan Writer (241 nominating ballots)

Claire Brialey
Bob Devney
David Langford
Cheryl Morgan
Steven H Silver

Best Fanzine (218 nominating ballots)

Banana Wings ed. by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer
Challenger ed. by Guy H. Lillian III
Chunga ed. by Randy Byers, Andy Hooper and Carl Juarez
Emerald City ed. by Cheryl Morgan
Plokta ed. by Alison Scott, Steve Davies and Mike Scott

Best Fan Artist (179 nominating ballots)

Brad Foster
Teddy Harvia
Sue Mason
Steve Stiles
Frank Wu

Best Web Site (311 nominating ballots)

eFanzines ( ed. by Bill Burns
Emerald City ( ed. by Cheryl Morgan
Locus Online ( ed. by Mark R. Kelly
SciFiction ( ed. by Ellen Datlow, Craig Engler, general manager
Strange Horizons ( Susan Marie Groppi, editor-in-chief

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (187 nominating ballots) (Not a Hugo Award – an award for best new science fiction writer of the past two years, sponsored by Dell Magazines and administered by the current Worldcon committee.)

Elizabeth Bear (second year of eligibility)
K.J. Bishop (second year of eligibility)
David Moles (second year of eligibility)
Chris Roberson (second year of eligibility)
Steph Swainston (first year of eligibility)



Press/Media: David Stewart -

The 2005 World Science Fiction Convention, known as Interaction, will take place in Glasgow, UK from 4-8 August 2005. More information about Interaction, including current membership rates, is available from its web site ( or by writing to

Specific press contacts, or requests to be removed from the Interaction press release mailing list should be directed to

"WSFS", "Worldcon", "World Science Fiction Convention" and "Hugo Award" are service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.

Similar threads