Question on Foundation Series from a Newbie

quantum81

~Quantum81~
Hello,

I am rather new to science fiction literature. I've read sci-fi on and off, but have only recently decided to get into the genre seriously. My first real introduction was/is the Ender Series, which I am enjoying tremendously.

I would very much like to get into the Foundation Series. However, after doing some research, I understand that some parts of the series - especially those written by some outside authors - basically suck and shouldn't be read.

Wikipedia posts the books on all the series in chronological order
(en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Foundation_Series]Foundation series), however, my question is - which of these can I skip and still get the full satisfaction of the series? I just don't want to waste my time with books that do not really add to the series.

Also, I know that other series are merged with the Foundation - that's fine. Just those that aren't worth the time and effort.

Any and all advice is very much appreciated. Thanks.

You'll find the list I drew up some time ago here:

http://www.sffchronicles.co.uk/forum/1156073-post9.html

This includes only those written by Asimov himself, in series-chronological order (rather than that of publication). Nearly all of the robot stories can be found in his collections I, Robot or The Complete Robot, with the exception of "Robot Dreams" and perhaps one or two others. I suggest reading the added material from I, Robot simply for the sake of story-continuity in developing the relationship between Susan Calvin and the robots, which later is linked to certain things in the Foundation books.

Here's hoping you enjoy the stories (both short tales and novels), and I look forward to seeing you around the boards....

Incidentally, I'm moving this to the Asimov forum, where it is likely to garner more responses.....