Based on real people ethics

RonJaxon

Overflowing imagination
I admit that I have very little writing experience
I hope it's okay to ask about this in this section of the forum. Wasn't quite sure where it would fit.

This is basically a question of ethics. Some of the caricatures in my writing are based on people I either know, have meet or sometimes just someone I've seen. For example one guy I know is named Terry (Nick name is TAP) and he has parkinsons. This causes him to move and talk very slowly and every once in a while his body would get stuck and he'd need someone to give him a little shove to get moving again. What's interesting about him is, for one thing he's a good guy with a great personality. It's also amazing how much he can do dispite his condition. He's one of the best pool players in my area. A game takes a while because of how slow he moves but even with his shaking hands it's amazing that he still makes the shots.

Another example is a guy I know named Tony. He's a huge guy. Bald with a goatee. He looks like the kind of guy that would easily win tough man contests. But he's actually one of the nicest and least violent person I've ever meet. This of course makes him perfect for his job as a bouncer.

Anyway, getting back to my questions. What would be considered proper ethics for this kind of thing? Should I tell the people I based a caricature on them? I know it's not always possible because sometimes we don't really know the person. But I'm wondering how you all think it should be handled when yo do know them. I know I'm probably looking to deep into this for I haven't published any of my stories yet. But it's just something I got to thinking about.

Any thoughts?

Ron Jaxon

I don't really see where ethics come into it. There is certainly nothing unethical about basing your characters on real people so long as they aren't too obviously recognizable and you don't do it with malicious intent.