Lulu

Cheehwawa

ΩSIRIS
I just heard someone mentioned getting published through lulu. I went to the website and it seems kind of confusing.

Have any of you gone the lulu route? If so, what would you suggest? Im an aspiring writer but I dont have a novel anywhere near ready yet, so this is just info for down the road.

Ive also checked out authorhouse. That seems pretty solid, how would you say that the services stack up against lulu's?

Thanks

I tried one of my novels from my younger days to see what it would look like, and basically, you decide the layout, font, cover, everything, and they will put it together for you into a book, (no editing or anything) then you can buy copies of it (i don't see how you can make a profit on lulu.com at all). It goes up for sale on their website, but there are tens of thousands of other books on there, and most of no real good content and probably need editing like crazy (that is not to say all but most), so people just don't buy copies from them cos of the lack of quality. The good thing with lulu is if you just want a copy for yourself to edit, (cos it can be a hassle to print off a full novel) you can buy one usually around £8 and have it delivered in a few days.

Now authorhouse, don't really know them but from what i hear they expect huge sums of money upfront, which is always a bad idea IMO.

Now remember, these are NOT traditional publishers so if you are looking at normal publishers and normal rules, then i would buy the writer's and artist's yearbook 2009 as it tells you most of what you need to know and lists down all the publishers and agents in the UK and elsewhere.

There are other threads here i think about lulu.com.

Last edited: