Avoiding info dumps

Garthanield

Probably not very funny
Hello! I've been writing for about two years now as a hobby.
I am a regular blogger and my blogs have gained a cult following among my school.
However, I have one massive problem, which probably stems from my blogging habits.
In my book, I need to give an information dump very early on, which I want to avoid. However, I can't think of many ways to do this without changing a few essential writing quirks:
i. The closest character to the information dump needs to be distanced from the reader.
ii. He will have no oppurtunity to talk to anybody who he can dispense information to.
I can't think of any other way of dumping a lot of information at once.
Could anyone offer some suggestions of what to do?
Thank you.

That's a hard question to answer without more information. What sort of information are you needing to get across? Is it information about the setting, some sort of technology, or what? And what are you envisioning for the early parts of this story in which this info will need to be incorporated?

Hi Garthanield.

Its ok to use info dumps. ive looked around this site an other people have posted questions on infodumps and it seems infodumps carry a disease of some kind. Jokes aside there are nothing wrong with using them throughout a story. Infodumps add back bone to a story, they fill out a story and give it credibility. I see infodumps as a chance to convince the readers of what your characters are either thinking or bolster their character. For example if your protaganist is a doctor you may use infodumps to make your character seem more knowledgeable of the health profession. Most big novels use them but its the way you weave them into the narrative so they dont stand out that is the trick.

anyways good luck.