Colossus Macabre.

Status
Not open for further replies.

tyrant Lizard

Hi all, I've attached the first chapter of a fantasy novel I'm writing at the moment. I'd love to hear what people think of it, if anyone gets a chance to read it. I've also attached a short story I wrote, which is about the time before a battle.

Attachments

• chapter one..wps.zip
    13.5 KB · Views: 127
  • on this hallowed earth.wps.doc
    24.5 KB · Views: 214
Agreed. Not that I can open WPS files on my comp anyway.. You should just post the text into the body of your post, as is the common practice..

Sorry about that. I'm new to this sort of thing. Didn't realise you could paste things on. I'll put the short story on here...

ON THIS HALLOWED EARTH.
The scout breasted the scorched rise, and drew himself to his full height, seeing for the first time the object of his master’s conquest.
They called it the Gateway to Doom, the Sundered Passage, and it was the only route through which an army could pass into the fertile richlands of the west. The scout caught his breath as he surveyed the rearing cliffs before him. Mountains loomed ominously, stretching north and south for as far as the eye could see, a natural barrier of solid granite that soared over a thousand feet high. And there, where two of the tallest mountains met, causing a crease to run down the face of the barrier, the Gateway nestled.
It was a sinister portal, carved from the rock face itself into thousands of screaming gargoyles. The gate proper was set into a deep recess, and stood twelve feet tall, ten feet wide, and six feet deep. Beyond that gate waited the Causeway Legions. They were the defenders of this passage, and were the reason that in its four thousand year history, the Gateway to Doom had never been breached.
The scout looked behind him, and saw the colossal dust cloud that was raised by the boots of his master’s host.
Tomorrow it would fall.
Nothing could stand against the master, or the hordes that he commanded.