Martin reading newbie here

Zee

I'm new here so I'll try not to step on any toes. Just wanted to say how much I'm enjoying Song of Ice and Fire series so far. I've just today finished reading A Storm of Swords so I'm 1 book away from being up to date. I know I'll be in for the "long wait" for Dance, but what can you do? I've read elsewhere that Erikson's Malazan series is worth reading, and he's up to 7 books already so I may try that series while I wait for Martin to continue this fantastic voyage we're all on.

A bit about me, I'm from Canada, used to enjoy reading mostly sci-fi but have gotten into fantasy now thanks to Martin. I'm 38, married with a daughter and a second child on the way this year.

Greetings and best wishes to all.

l'll second that greeting and give a little beware. All is not calm in the wait for George's new book. Read, read, read, for this site is all about wondering and if your not careful the veterans will come and sincerely disrespect you.

Welcome, though, I'm a newbie myself. 24, from Montana, and all about the Obster, and like Sam when first arriving at the wall, ready to piss my pants whenever anyone comes at me with a sharper theory. Just remember all is dust in the wind until George comes with the true account of what happens. The rest of us (in my opinion) are just opinionated procrastinators with nothing better to do but wait.

I know I'll be in for the "long wait" for Dance, but what can you do?
You can join this therapy group of ASOIAFaholics for starters, which you have done. The next step is to start posting questions about anything and everything so that we can correct you on certain things and so that we can repeat all of our favorite hypothesis and theories. The third step is to re-read ASOIAF with the new theories in mind. After you finish that, then come back and post some more. The final step will be when you post the following...