Is Shakespeare Irrelevant...

Hell no! (In my own and deeply influential opinion :p)

Ah, man, how can they get rid of Shakespeare, he's a legend! I studied him all through secondary school (Twelfth Night, Romeo and Juliet, various sonnets) then at A Level (Hamlet, Othello (loved those plays..)) then last year we studied two more of his texts in one of my modules (Richard III, The Tempest). And in preparation for my second year we were allowed to pick four modules from a list of options, one of which was a module all about the bard himself -- well, it's technically Shakespeare and Renaissance Comedy -- and that was my first and immediate choice. And it seemed the same with much of the English group. Although I guess a few chose him because he's a 'comfort zone', one that everyone's done throughout school -- but for me it's because I just love the guy and his plays so much :D (I'm quite sure we'll study Christopher Marlowe as well, WOOP!)

I don't think Shakespeare is irrelevant either. He played a big part in English literature for centuries, and is still one of the most highly recognized writers/playwrights in history. In my opinion, you can't just disregard teaching people about such a prominent figure.

Definitely not irrelevant. His plays have lasted all this time because of their sheer quality and timelesness. Many of the dilemmas within his work are as relevant now as when they were first written.

And if it's adventure and intrigue you seek, he has created some of the finest villains ever - Iago's manipulations of Othello are wonderfully dark but (for me) Aaron's ranting confesion about digging up corpses and scratching meassages in the skin in Titus Andronicus is by far the greatest piece of knavery ever conceived.

Darth Vader, Sauron, Lord Foul? Pussycats compared to Shakespeare's villains.