Message from the new boy

Anthony Goolab

Hello fellow quill jockeys

I am extremely new to this writing experience.

My story has been incubating in my head for five years. I tried to convert it into a screenplay, but the collaboration gradually died out. After an inspirational trip with my lovely lady in January, I decided on my return to finally sit dawn and turn my story into a novel. I am surprised I have not lost enthusiasm yet, nor have I suffered any mental blocks. I have written 20,000 words, which I am very proud of as I work fulltime.

Does anyone sometimes find they cannot type as quickly as they think? I find I cannot get the words out quickly enough, and spend a high proportion of time rendezvousing with the Backspace key (we're well acquainted). Sometimes I think my keyboard can't spell nuffink!

As a new member to this great forum, which I think is a terrific resource; I would like to ask a few questions:

:confused: How much theory do I include when explaining theories and working principles to the multitude of inventions I have created for this story? Thus far I have included quite detailed explanations. This will hopefully ensure I do not baffle readers too much; as I could be in danger of losing readers if I am sparse with Plain English.

:confused: Is it too presumptuous of me to personify evil in my book without mentioning, or even eluding to religion? I am not religious at all. But I have heard that evil cannot exist without good. I don't think religion will be a counteracting force in my story. Human endurance and common sense, at this stage proves to be the main saving influence (as well as a few other goodies I will develop).

:confused: Should I be following a protocol as a first time writer, or may I be as brave and bold as I wish?

:confused: I have a suspicion I will exceed the 100,000 word limit. Is this acceptable?