Why I think AI-generated art is not art

SporgyTheReader

As a traditional artist, I'd say that AI-generated art is like microwaved chicken nuggets, it's premade, artificial, puts minimum effort to make, and is bad for you. The main problem with the use of AI-generated art is that it relies on pre-existing art to function as well some of the stuff generated being based off of a specific artist's style, this serves as direct competition with said specific artist. Imagine spending years perfecting your craft only for some bozo using a machine to copy your style and art, it comes off as art theft, if I'm being honest. And if your some snob that wants to argue on the philosophy on what is considered art, then I say that AI art is not art as a machine only has a rudimentary understanding of what is considered art and doesn't have a actually deep understanding of art, since some of these images have signatures on them despite not being created by a person. Because that's what the machines learned when observing pieces made by humans and so it begins to copy without understanding why it is there.

So if an AI digested a much wider swath of art and then created something that doesn't quite resemble the style of any other particular artist, you would say that is art?

I agree in general. And I think the same argument can potentially be made about AI's 'creative writing'. Is it art? Is it truly creative?

The way I see it, the output of AI is never excellent and never comes close to matching the best human endeavor (or even competent human endeavor). If I ask it to write me a story it will be unable match anything I can produce myself. Having said that, I wonder if that is really the point To be useful, it doesn't need to be excellent, it simply needs to exceed the abilities of whatever particular individual is relying on it.