Creative Writing

Author Robbie

Writer of TALES FROM ANOTHER DIMENSION
Supporter
I just listened to a bunch of lectures on youtube from Scifi and fantasy writer Brandon Sanderson. They are very interesting and his advice on dialogue, plot, characters, and world-building certainly opened my eyes as a writer and how to improve. Check them out.
If you watch them let me know what you think

Watched last years lecture series and regularly listen to Writing Excuses podcast. Find them most informative an entertaining, well at least the podcast. University lectures have, by definition, an entertainment ceiling that is just high enough to avoid stooping.

Watched last years lecture series and regularly listen to Writing Excuses podcast. Find them most informative an entertaining, well at least the podcast. University lectures have, by definition, an entertainment ceiling that is just high enough to avoid stooping.
I am a self-taught writer so it's insightful picking up these writing gems. It also makes writing even more fun.

I think many of us are self taught. I certainly am. My highest qualification in English was compulsory O-level, and that was more than 40 years ago. I was truly awful when I started writing fiction in 2014, but I’m a bit better now. It just takes a willingness to learn from your own mistakes and some serious stubbornness not to give up when you get rejection after rejection.
It’s not easy but absolutely worth the effort.

I think many of us are self taught. I certainly am. My highest qualification in English was compulsory O-level, and that was more than 40 years ago. I was truly awful when I started writing fiction in 2014, but I’m a bit better now. It just takes a willingness to learn from your own mistakes and some serious stubbornness not to give up when you get rejection after rejection.