About to embark on the heady adventure that is computer building.

VKALFIERI

From a land down under.
Like seemingly every second person these days, I'm an IT graduate. I have an Advanced Diploma of Computer Systems Engineering; so you'd think I'd be confident in my ability to build a system without breaking it; but by the time I finished my course just over a year ago; technology had changed just enough to make most of what I learned about building and maintaining a system completely moot.

So, instead of being sure of my ability, I plan on watching a YouTube tutorial and winging it in the hopes that I'll actually be able to pull out a miracle and build a new system.

Things I haven't ever done: Installed a water cooling unit.

Put the processor into a machine that wasn't a test machine that could be broken without consequence.

and

Installed an SSD.

How difficult on a scale of noob to saibot (mortal kombat reference ftw!) are these components to install, and should I just bite the bullet and grab the bits and pieces and DIY the thing?

I'm a total amateur but I've built several PCs over the last ten years, and in spite of it being a fairly nerve wracking process (for me, at least) these days it's kind of just like grown-up LEGO. Expensive grown-up LEGO, sure, but still...

My advice is that age old adage - measure twice, cut once. Check everything is compatible on a site like Pick Parts, Build Your PC, Compare and Share - PCPartPicker Australia before you buy to ensure compatibility, and then make sure to check all the manuals before you start slotting things into other things.

I've never used a water-cooling unit, but my understanding is that they come pretty ready to go these days. Plenty of youtube tutorials out there for those, as well. Dropping the processor in is the worst part for me, but I've never stuffed it up, and I have shaky hands and a nervous disposition. Installing an SSD is simple - basically plug and play.