I have tried a few things over the last year and thought I’d share my views/experience...

FibonacciEddie

Supporter
(For those who have no idea my situation) --- I am a self-published writer who is trying to work out how to promote my work in an effective way… I have written 1 book only (so far) - Emergence

I have tried a few things over the last year and thought I’d share my views/experience.

If all you are interested in is the efficacy of Paid Adverts then scroll down… it is there!

So subject matter marketing + publicity + adverts

I cannot stop myself starting with the tough love
- If you have not finished (really finished) a decent full draft of your manuscript then don’t bother thinking about marketing + publicity + adverts ---- for a newbie/indie/self-published author there is no-one interested in a “great idea”, you need to have a product --- spend all your effort on making your product as good as possible (beat readers, editorial review, copy-editor)

Then… unless you are amazing (and amazingly lucky) your general shop window presence will be as a jpeg (with a few words) on Amazon, Smashwords etc.

So
Book Cover
Make sure the title is readable on a “Matchbox” size image of your front cover, and that it grabs you at that size

Blurb
I will try to have 2 Blurbs (a 50 words one, and a 20 word one) – it’s the elevator pitch. My suggestion is that you write out forty versions of the 20 words one (easy, because you’re a writer!) and then test them on friends

Early Broadcast
My approach is to be shameless but respectful; assuming as a self-published author that no-one knows who you are? And that you have no track record of writing… I had ~150 email addresses of people of people I knew --- I wrote 3 types letters of varying levels on informality/begging

Reviews