Good Book Towns and Rotten Ones

Extollager

Victoria Silverwolf wrote, "We had some time to kill so we went to the one halfway decent used book store in the Chattanooga area."

Here's a thread for you to praise great villages, towns, cities as places to find used books, and also to grouse about municipalities that ought to be ashamed of themselves for the paltriness of their bookstores.

I'll continue the discussion by praising Portland, Oregon, at least as it was around 1980. There was not only Powell's great store but good sources. I used to rise the 'hound from Seaside, where I was a secondary school teacher, to Portland about once a month and fill a backpack with books. (Yes, I did pay for them.) I know Powell's is still there -- in fact has several stores in the Portland area.

Madison, Wisconsin was a fine book store town when we were there some years ago. New, used, and special interest (feminist. etc.) They were all located within walking distance of each other, too. Also a good city for a variety of restaurants and other urban tourist attractions. Nifty farmer's market stretching around the huge state capitol building, too; one mile of stuff for sale.

Hay-on-Wye

Honorable mentions for Vancouver (Pulp Fiction on West 10th especially), Toronto (lots of good used book stores when I visited 10 years or so ago) and Melbourne, in particular Brunswick St. which had a great selection of interesting bookshops when I lived there around the millenium.

Portlandia. Great town for many reasons. But Powell's Books is reason enough to visit all by itself. We won't mention Grimm. Oops. Too late.:D

Grimm, Clovis-Man? To me that's one or the other of a couple of brothers... but I think you mean something/someone else...

Hitmouse, the fame of Hay-on-Wye has reached even Vanishing Rural America. So lots of books at attractive prices?