Help - I've written a draft - what do I do next?

EPT Henry

Dawb a dawb dawb...
Hi All,

I am very new to all of this and have just found this website. It seems to fit nicely with the sort of book I am writing so thought I'd sign up and get involved.

I've written a draft and I am in the process of editing it for a second time now but I was hoping for advice.

What on earth am I meant to do next?

Ultimately I would love to have my book published but I am not sure on the steps from here onwards.

How many times should I edit it before I share it?
Who am I meant to share it with? Family and friends doesn't strike me as objective feedback.
Is it better just to edit it and try and find an agent? Or does the agent edit it?

So many questions!

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated! And please be patient, baby steps may be required!

Cheers

Firstly Henry, welcome to Chons. Secondly, learn about this site. Involve yourself in Chrons, get a feel for how good it is, and then, when you have sufficient post, drop something on the crits section. Don't rush, and remember that writing isn't a dash it's a long, long journey. Best of luck to you.

Thank you for the quick response.

So I could get something critiqued on here? That would be useful. I work at a university and I have thought about asking one of the creative writing profs to have a look but I wasn't sure if that'd help - does it matter if they don't like the genre do you think?

Any tips on starting points in terms of discussions to join?

Welcome to Chrons.

Neither agents nor editors want to edit anyone's work. You should always get your stories as polished as possible before submitting them. And they do not want work that has been already exposed to the public. Your best bet is to find a site where you can get it critiqued and there is limited access to it. Here on Chrons, the is a critique forum but you must have at least 30 posts before you can ask for a critique.