Uhhh How Does It End Again?

Perpetual Man

Tim James
Supporter
Funny thing. Whenever I write I generally have an idea, even if it is vague about how a story will end. If it is vague it normally crystalises as I am writing (or changes completely), and when I start writing I have an idea baout what I am going to write about.

Recently I started a short story. I know it was something I wanted to write, I had the genre, I just wanted to write something in that genre. But had no idea what I was going to tell.

So I thought 'In for a penny in for a pound' and did something I've never done before, just started to write with no idea what I was going to write. At all. :rolleyes:

Let the imagination lead me.

I came up with a few ideas that I really liked and went with it but now... I suddenly came to the conclusion that I am just writing I keep going, but I don't know how the story is going to end so I just don't stop hoping that I'll discover the end along the way.

As this happened to anyone else?

And how did it get resolved?

(No matter what I feel this is one story that is going to have chunks amputated rather than edited.)

All the time for me, too. I never know the end of short stories until I get there. I usually know the end to novels, but not always (no idea on the one I worked on recently, for example).

I usually know the ending on my short stories. That being said it's a very open idea for the ending so things change as the story gets built. Right now I have two shorts I am going to work on and I have already decided on the premises, rough characters, start, and rough endings. I find I can blast through the sections easier if I have a plan. Like we spoke about in another thread, I treat them like storyboards then build around them.

An ending never seems to worry JJ Martin in Game of Thrones. His plots and characters wonder off in all directions with no ending in sight. So enjoy mate, write away I say.