Fantasy newbie :)

Jokerette

I have 3 gorgeous, mouthy Siamese. Funniest creatu
I'm a published author and currently I ghost-write as well. My latest is fantasy: have always loved good fantasy, but it isn't at the top of my list.

My current gig involves 30k already written: the last 50 is yours truly. Been researching like a bandit for couple of days.

I =think= this is Epic Fantasy, genre-wise... the first 10 chapters involve a hero, magical guilds, sigils... it smells a bit like 13 century UK. (Client specified 13 century AND middle earth: period.) The content I have does not include hobbits or anything of that ilk.

As I do have 10k written in the style & voice he prefers, no problem there. But I need to research lingo! Or even buy books written in such a genre (whatever it may be.) High fantasy for sure, methinks. I checked "Historical" and that doesn't fit. Any ideas? I saw a spot here for links:am hitting that next.

I believe I just need to be pointed at a good source for writing fantasy. Sure didn't find it from Google... the one site had. ah. less-than-helpful information.

(BTW, someone did nice SEO on this site! Did find YOU, thank God :D

It may just be lack of coffee (I just got up), but I can't seem to understand what exactly you are asking about.

Setting? Well, if you're writing in a Middle Earth-esque setting, then of course Tolkien comes first to mind as reading material. For the magical part I can strongly recommend Trudi Canavan's Magician-trilogy (conveniently named, that one). And for a vastly different magic, Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn-series.

If I understood right, the client has written 30k words already? Shouldn't he know the genre? If not, then this List of genres - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia might help pin it down.