Is it a good idea to provide free copies? And for how long?

MJH

I am currently doing a free promotion on Amazon Kindle? Is this worthwhile? And how long should it run for? All opinions welcome!

Free (or discounted) copies are provided to provide "buzz" - ie, for people to experience it, and then share their enjoyment.

HOWEVER, I work in marketing, and there's a very important point from his field about "perceived value".

Simply put, anything "free" can be assumed to have no value unless there is existing perceived value.

If Neil Gaiman offered a new book for free, then going by his track record, many people would presume his free book would have value, and therefore rush in to grab it.

If an unknown author offers a book for free, then there is no existing perceived value, so not only may people not care to download it, they may also ensure it's pushed right down their reading list.

"Free chapters" get around this somewhat - they are, by their nature, samples of something that claims to have value. It is up to whoever "samples" this as to whether the product really does appear to have any potential value or not. This is precisely why Amazon do their "look inside" feature.

Hope that helps!

I've not offered any free copies generally, but I have downloaded some (found through Twitter).

There's a potential plus in that the hard up (like me...*plays a violin*) can enjoy them and then, perhaps, go for the other books the author's written. However, there's also the downside that Brian mentioned (and you'll make no money from those 'sales').

In addition, many of the free books I've downloaded have been sitting on my Kindle for a while. It's easier to forget about a free book than one you've paid for.