Need advice

majid01

Hey everyone!

After reading the walking dead, I am looking for more graphic novels to sink my teeth into. Iv'e made a shopping list on amazon, and would like you guys to see if the list is worth it. I am relatively new to the genre but love series that spawns across a few books and have some sort of closure.

Here is the list:

-Ex Machina volumes 1-10
-V for vendetta
-Pride of Baghdad
-Complete Maus
-The Invisibles Omnibus
-Watchmen
-Akira 1-5 (Not sure with these...)
-Y the last man 1-5
-Lone wolf and cub Omnibus 1 and 2 (Not sure with these...)

Also, I'd like to add an omnibus edition of some sort of superhero(s). New X-men omnibus?

How about transmetropolitan? Heard good things about it...

Thanks for all your feedback! :)

Can't comment on all of those.. as I've not read some - but those I have:

V for vendetta
As per the norm for Alan Moore it's fantastic - it's dated as it's written about a future which didn't happen (the story was mainly a fear driven from 80's right wing policies) but even with that the story and ideas keep you absorbed and the artwork is equally fantastic.

Complete Maus
Have to confess that although I rate this highly it's not something I've re-read - it's on the shelf and I'm sure I will.. it could be the subject matter is too heavy going.. or the narrative doesn't lend itself to being re-read.. either way I'm struggling to recommend it above the other works on the list..

Watchmen
Buy it - read it - love it. Never lend it out. Keep it under lock and key and touch it reverently every now and again as you pass it on the bookshelf. (as you might have noticed.. can't recommend this book enough!).

Akira 1-5
I'm in the process of reading and buying these - long time fan of the film but hadn't ever got round to picking up the comics - I've only read the first 2 volumes but already the story has (as expected) much greater depth and sub-plots missing from the film - artwork is amazing and so far I'm loving the story.