How honest are we with critiques?

Jo Zebedee

Aliens vs Belfast.
Supporter
Have we ever said to someone who's really, really good: that's really good, I could see that being published, or do we nit their commas and whatnot because that's what we're supposed to do in a crit. (I have a couple of people I've handed it back to -- well, one, actually -- and pretty much said it's brilliant. But I have read a couple of others where if I'd picked it up in the library, I'd have read it easily and not known it was from a new author, and I probably haven't said that to the people concerned. Sorry.)

Similarly, has anyone actually been honest enough to say to someone I really don't think you have the skills you need?

I never have mainly because a. how do I know? I am an amateur author with my own tastes which are widely divergent from others. Most epic fantasy that I've read, the published stuff, I mean, if it was sitting in front of me for a crit, I'd red pen everywhere. (Mostly it'd be get on with the story and stop describing a horse. But others like horse description, apparently. :D)

and b. intrinsically, despite the madame whiplash comments last month, I'm quite a nice person, who'd hate to douse someone's dreams. I'm happy to comment on punctuation and the story, and I'm mostly honest about whether I liked it, loved it, or it wasn't for me. But I couldn't, actually, say to someone they were rubbish, in my opinion.

And yet, I'd want them to tell me. Nicely. But I'd want to know so that I can decide not to waste my spare time writing. I have other things I could waste it on. :) What about anyone else? How honest are you, really? ....

I'm honest probably to the point of being offensive. I've told people when bits of their work is boring me, I've told people to stop waffling on about the sky and get on with it, I've told people when their characters are being bitches. I've also told people when I've thought their stuff was publishable.