Maps

thaddeus6th

Supporter
I've just begun making the map for my WIP, and I was wondering how other people make them, and what sort of maps they like as readers.

My plan is to try and optimise a map so that it works properly on an eReader (increasing the font size, for example) and probably doing a separate, larger version for my website. Whilst eBooks are great, maps and other pictures can be of poorer quality on them.

Not sure if I'll stick with this method of drawing, but my idea is to do it using a pen and pencil and then putting it together on the computer. I'm a pretty rubbish artist, but hopefully doing things in detail one-by-one will make things easier. If that doesn't work out I'll see if I can make it just using the computer.

Bane of Souls didn't have a map because it almost entirely takes place in a single city, and urban geography doesn't play a particularly significant role in the story. My WIP, by contrast, is all about a journey so having a map makes more sense.

I used to really like maps when I was younger, but lately I find myself less concerned with them. I might even be annoyed if Joe Abercrombie did one for the Circle of the World, because I've got a mental picture of where all the nations are.

Mind you, I loved the ones in the Lone Wolf gamebooks, and when I was a kid making fantasy maps was one of the things that kept my interest in the genre.

Do it for your sake, but the writing itself will make or break the book. I don't think a map is something your include when querying agents, but if they take your book, maybe you can discuss it then. As for eReaders, the simpler the better. IMO, clean lines and defined boundaried will help more than shadowing and cross-hatching.

Sorry, I perhaps should've been clearer. This is for a half-done book to be self-published, so no querying required.