A King's Court Vol 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Damiynn

Fantasy Author
I am a fantasy author, who has traveled the world.
Prologue

The smell of blood and sweat clung to everything in the lower levels of the slave pits. Lord Richard couldn’t keep it from permeating his nostrils as he waded through the stench. It was everywhere, he didn’t mind, it was a small price to pay if he was right. He wasn’t sure though and that thought burrowed through his insides like a worm coring through an apple.

The slave’s temporary keeper carried a long pole, pointed at one end and he jabbed it in between the bars of his cell.

“Get ye up! Go on, get off your lazy ass and behave yourself, someone is here to see you.”

Through the bars, Lord Richard saw the tall figure stand, bald headed and scarred. Although his wrists were manacled and all he wore was a burlap shift that could barely be called a cloth, he moved like death’s shadow, dark and forbidding. Now, unlike in his younger years, when Richard had first known him, he was a killer with no conscious other than to survive. A man who had lost his honor and had no moral compass.

How had he ever come to this? Lord Richard realized he knew the answer as soon as the thought crossed his mind and it saddened him. In a way he could also be this man locked in the cell. How would he be now if he had been present at the Night of Sorrows when his sister was killed.

Dried blood covered the slave’s face, neck and chest, it still dripped off the manacles he had used to kill his opponent. He definitely looked nothing like the man he remembered, but, he knew it was him.