Tarquin Seebohm Jenkins: Survival

Status
Not open for further replies.

The Bloated One

Hi everyone,

Rocking on with my opus, The Adventures Of Tarquin Seebohm Jenkins. Below I have put a piece with a lot of dialogue. I am still learning about dialogue and how to punctuate it, so if anyone has the time to check it through I would be delighted. Comments and thoughts on the pacing (Peter Graham, I know you're out there...) and the content, overall feel for the piece (CTG, sharpen that pencil) are as always welcome and acted upon.

Background: Our hero Tarquin has just been shot by a crocodile looking alien in the tea shop in the small English village of Steeple Snoring. Rescued by his mentor, Jules Rigsworth on a Chesterfield sofa he has been rushed back to 2340....

The Chesterfield sofa materialized in 2340 belching smoke and flames. Jules had taken them straight to the BIF headquarters space port. Rescue crews pulled Rigsworth and the others clear of the sofa before it erupted in a ball of fire. Tarquin lay motionless, face up on the hover trolley. He had a pulse but it was faint. Rushed to the emergency wing of the BIF's hospital he was put under the care of Professor Tommy Cramdunkle and prepared for surgery and decontamination. The Leche laced their lances with poisonous spores that multiplied inside their host with terrifying speed and lethal consequences. But, that wasn’t all. Accompanying the spores were hallucinogens that sent the victim’s mind into psychosis. Even if Tarquin survived, it was unlikely he would ever be the same boy again.