XP MBR Error

Discussion in 'Technology' started by Highlander II, Mar 10, 2011.

  1.  
    Highlander II

    Highlander II There can be only one!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    Messages:
    9,642
    So, my question is - is there a way to run the 'fixmbr' command while Windows XP is running?

    I ask b/c I don't know that my system boots into a recovery mode... or that I have the right disc to make it do so. I have the Recovery disks that I made when I first bought the machine, but don't know if that will let me get to a place to run the 'fixmbr' command.

    Anyone know if it does? Or if I can run the fix while 'inside' Windows?


    Yes... stupid machine went 'oh noes! there is a boot record error! fail!' and I've restored to factory settings... omg so so annoying... but it still has that error. *sigh*


    ** is lucky all pertinent data is stored on an external **
  2.  
    Cayal

    Cayal The Immortal Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,940
    I don't know if this will help but it says you can run it in Recovery console:

    Master Boot Record - How To Repair the Master Boot Record In Windows XP - Fixmbr

    Running in DOS (Command Prompt)

    http://www.computerhope.com/fixmbr.htm
  3.  
    Highlander II

    Highlander II There can be only one!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    Messages:
    9,642
    Yeah - I looked at that first one, but my recovery console doesn't come up that way. I don't have the options that they display... I have the option to 'restore' (factory settings) or something else, that I don't remember... but nothing as far as getting to a DOS prompt to enter the 'fixmbr' command.

    The 2nd link is little help b/c it assumes that you have the XP installation CD - which I don't. I have the recovery disks that I made when I got the machine, but that does the same as the recovery console.
  4.  
    Highlander II

    Highlander II There can be only one!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    Messages:
    9,642
    Okay, so, turns out that the MBR error was a result of the machine making grand attempts to boot off the graphics card in the PCI slot. No, I have no idea how that happened, only that my sister's friend had to poke the BIOS to fix it.

    However, I now have a NEW problem - I can't use the graphics card for its intended purpose B/C the machine tries to boot from it if I restart the machine.

    Anyone know how to solve that one?

    The graphics card works... but I don't know how to keep the machine from trying to boot the mini-harddrive on the card rather than the main harddrive on the machine.
  5.  
    The Ace

    The Ace Aye fur Alba

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,145
    Have you tried going into the BIOS and selecting the big hard drive to boot first ?
  6.  
    Highlander II

    Highlander II There can be only one!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    Messages:
    9,642
    Yeah - that's what my sis's friend did.

    However - as it turns out, that's not the actual problem. B/c I removed the graphics card and it's *still* giving me the MBR error.

    So, I think imma take it to some Tech guys who will clean it up and make it all shiny again... =) Or - as shiny as a 7y/o PC can be.
  7.  
    Highlander II

    Highlander II There can be only one!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    Messages:
    9,642
    Well, by process of elimination (having not restarted it since coming to this potential conclusion) - I believe the MBR error is coming from the xternal harddrive...

    no idea why the thing is trying to boot off the external - i never changed anything in the BIOS to *tell* it to do that, but it obviously got that idea in it's head somewhere...

    tech-guy played with the BIOS and it may be reset correctly now - though, not sure since I didn't have the xHD w/ me at the time, so we'll have to see when I reboot later.

Share This Page