Self-Publishing . . . the numbers . . .

Discussion in 'Publishing' started by valleyoflepers, Jul 20, 2009.

valleyoflepers

valleyoflepers New Member

I'm a writer in America. I've been writing for 10 years now. I like writing and editing a lot. But what I like most is research on the whole industry. I've seen the numbers every year for the last few years or so on all aspects of the game. As a professional, I don't like to give out my secrets and hard work for free. But I can tell you this much, the traditional publisher is a dying breed. They will never be completely extinct, but there will only be a few left. The numbers don't lie! Self publishing is the way to go! Any new writer who sends out letters to publishers who most likely aren't reading them anyway, you're wasting your time. Publishers and agents and editors for publishers, dying out. The game has changed. The key to success is marketing and advertising.

60% of people who buy a book, see an ad. for it on-line . . .

25% of people who buy books, buy on-line . . .

The numbers are only going to get worse for trad. publishers and agents and bookstores over the next 3 to 5 years.

I suspect that 75 to 80 % of people who buy a book will see an ad. for it on the internet. I also suspect that 50% and rising will buy their books on the internet in the next 3 to 5 years.

(No more stats. . . .take it for what it's worth. Self-publish . . .use the internet to promote. Save 3 to 5 years sending out letters to people and use that time more wisely, like doing research on the internet and book promo on the internet. Because by the time 3 to 5 years slip by and you get a publisher, even if that happens, the game has changed.)
    Scarfy

Scarfy Stephen J Sweeney

I can tell you that 95% of all the books I have bought and read in the past six years have been a result of word of mouth.
    dustinzgirl

dustinzgirl Mod of Awesome